Ohio's Concealed Carry License information

New and Renewal CCW applications
are processed by appointment only:
Monday 9:00am - 3:30pm
Tuesday 9:00am - 3:30pm
Wednesday 11:20am - 6:30pm
Thursday 9:00am - 3:30pm
Friday 9:00am - 3:30pm

Requirements for Ohio Concealed Carry License may be found at the Ohio Attorney General website

For a complete list of states where your Ohio Concealed Handgun License is recognized, please visit the following link: reciprocal states. It is your responsibility to know the laws for carrying in the states that honor Ohio’s Concealed Handgun License.

Applicant must bring the following items on the day of the appointment:

New Applications

Driver's License or Ohio State ID
Completed Application
Training Certificate*
Fee - Cash or Money Order
(exact amount only)

* - Military members:
If your DD-214 is issued AND includes an entry for pistol qualifications, you may use it in place of the Training Certificate.
If you are currently serving, your most recent certification from your Range Safety Officer showing proficiency with pistols will suffice.
Without a specific entry referencing pistols, you must have a CCW Course Completion Certificate.

Renewals
  • Driver's License or Ohio State ID
  • Completed Application
  • Your old CCW License
  • CCW Renewals are valid for five years from the date of issue.
Replacement Licenses
  • Driver's License or Ohio State ID
  • Affidavit stating the circumstances surrounding the loss of your license
  • Notaries are available at the Sheriff’s Office to witness your signature.
  • Appointments are not necessary for Replacement Licenses.
Fee Schedule

First Time Applicant, Ohio Resident 5+ Years: $67.00
First Time Applicant, Ohio Resident Less than 5 years: $77.00

Renewal, Ohio Resident 5+ Years: $50.00
Renewal, Ohio Resident Less than 5 years: $60.00

Replacement: $15.00

The State of Ohio waives CCW fees for active duty military and retired and honorably discharged veterans. The fee waivers are limited per year. If the waivers run out prior to the time of your appointment, you will be required to pay the CCW fee to process your application.

Payment must be for the exact amount, and may be made using cash or Money Order
(payable to "Warren County Sheriff's Office").

Publications